PDA

View Full Version : Word Compare Side By Side

mosa182
03-14-2010, 03:44 AM
Hi There

This is the first time I have been on this forum, so please execuse me if this has already been done. I have some experience in programming, but I am finding VBA particularly frustrating.

I am wondiering if this is possible? What would the coding be?

I want to use a spin button and a label to switch between open word documents
the label will display that documents name
I presume I would need to save the open documents name into an array, setting the value using the application.countBut I don't know how to solve this. Any help would be appreciated :friends:

Cheers Joe

lucas
03-14-2010, 12:49 PM
Are you under the impression that a userform will remain visible when you switch to a different document?

It will not.

I didn't do the whole label and spin button thing but I did put together a listbox that you can click on to nav to any open document so you could begin to see the problem with your request:

see attached. Open several documents and run the userform in the attached doc. Click on one of them to activate that document.

A lot would depend on what you wanted to do with the documents you are navigating to. You don't have to make them visible to do most things.

mosa182
03-15-2010, 05:27 AM
I have noticed that if you change the Options : 'Show all windows on the desktop' so it is not true, the form will stay on top no matter how many documents you cycle through.

Cheers for your reply, I will look at the coding you used.

fumei
03-15-2010, 10:14 AM
You could make the userform non-modal. I have to ask what is the purpose of this. All open documents are accessible through the Window menu; or (depending) through the Taskbar. I am simply wondering what is being served by this.

lucas
03-15-2010, 10:35 AM
The userform in my example is non modal Gerry and it still goes behind any document you open using the userform.

I wonder about the need too.

fumei
03-15-2010, 11:00 AM