PDA

View Full Version : Solved: VBA table population

jludt
03-30-2010, 07:37 AM
Hello,

This is my first post and I am relatively new to VBA but not to programming in general.I have a small table that I successfully created a small search function for and now I am trying to find a way to add records to the table.

As of right now I have a main form with 2 buttons, one for the search and one for the add. The form for the add is finished except for the VBA in the back end. The fields in the add form correspond to the fields in the table but I can't figure out how to go about getting new records into the table. Is it an SQL INSERT statement? Or is there a built in function in VBA that will allow me to do this?

I was hoping to get some insight on this as well as maybe an example. Anything else I can do to clarify my problem, code, screens etc. let me know I would be glad to post. Thank you ahead of time.

CreganTur
03-30-2010, 07:44 AM
Welcome to the forum- always good to see new members.

Access can handle adding new records natively- just make sure that the form's record source is an editable query or the table itself. It sounds like the addition form is only for adding new records- if this is true, then you can make its record source be the table and set it's Data Entry property to Yes (on the Data tab of the property sheet). This will set the form so that it will not show any existing records- it only allows records to be added to the table.

HTH:thumb

jludt
03-30-2010, 11:33 AM
Cregan,

Thank you for your quick response I appreciate that greatly. I got sidetracked and ended working on something else. I wasn't exactly clear on your response though. Are you sayign taht I don't even need VBA to accomplish this? I looked at the properties of the form and didn't see anything saying "Data Entry" in the Data tab. I was hoping you could be more specific for me. This is basically my first time doing anything like this in Access. Thanks man.

CreganTur