PDA

View Full Version : Table of Contents Field Code

ABrown
03-31-2010, 03:57 AM
I wonder if anyone can help - I have been trying to modify a template that requires section headings to be centred, therefore I have to set the style so that there is no tab mark following the heading level, but when I run the table of contents I want the section heading to have a tab mark after the section number so there is a gap between that and the name of the section - ie:

In document:

(centred on top of page)
Section 1
Section 1 Heading

Then in the table of contents:

Section 1 (tab) Section 1 Heading ..............................Page number

What I am trying to get the code to do is put a tab mark after the first part of the text in the TOC field code.... I am not sure if this is possible.

I have limited VBA experience and wondered if someone more advanced could help?

What I really need is to search for the field code then move through each instance of section and add the tab (I think!).

Many thanks for any assitance.

Annette

fumei
03-31-2010, 08:28 AM
First of all, there is NO relationship between Section and Table of Contents.

The ToC is generated by whatever style you set for the ToC to use.

Please explain:

(centred on top of page)
Section 1
Section 1 Heading

The "Section 1" - above "Section 1 Heading" - is this text?

"I am not sure if this is possible. " It may or may not be.

ABrown
04-01-2010, 08:36 AM