PDA

View Full Version : Copy Colours

adamsm
04-11-2010, 04:36 AM
Hi friends,
I’m new to Excel macros and VB coding.
I’m trying to create a Workbook for my color paints. I have included two sheets in my workbook which I want the following to happen with the help of a VB code.
When I write either “blue” or “red” in the sheet named “colour”; I want the rows light blue & dark blue get copied from the sheet “ColourTypes” into the row, below where I write the text blue. I want them to be copied to the column “A” of the sheet “colour” from the sheet “ColourTypes”.
Moreover, when I write the age in the cell ‘F1” of the “colour” sheet I want the row that contains a lue between the age range to be copied into the sheet “colour”
I did try using Vlook up formulas but that didn’t suit my need. So I thought for a second choice.
Let’s say for example I write blue in the sheet “colour” and in the cell F1 of the same sheet I write 16, I want the rows light blue & dark blue that contains the range between 16 to get copied, meaning I want the rows 8 and 10 to get copied under the row blue of the sheet “colour”
I hope I have made my question clear.
Any help would be kindly appreciated.

lucas
04-11-2010, 01:11 PM
It's not really clear whether you intend to expand on this or not so I just did the color blue for you and the ages 17 & 18

This is sheet change code. It goes in the module for the sheet.

type blue in column A and make sure F1 has either a 17 or 18

Option Explicit
Option Compare Text
Private Sub worksheet_change(ByVal target As Range)
If target.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If target.Column = 1 And target.Row <> 1 Then
If target.Value = "Blue" And (Range("F1").Value = "17" Or Range("F1").Value = "18") Then
Sheets("ColourTypes").Rows("8:8").Copy
target.Offset(1, 0).PasteSpecial
Sheets("ColourTypes").Rows("10:10").Copy
target.Offset(2, 0).PasteSpecial
Application.CutCopyMode = False
End If
End If
End Sub