PDA

View Full Version : Sleeper: Linking protect to enable=false

tonyicu
05-12-2005, 09:06 AM
Sorry for the name that's the best I could do for one line.

I need away to link the protect function to the "Enabled = True" (or "Enabled = False") properties of a command button.

I browsed through 2 books and can't find anything.

When the worksheet is protected, then "Enable = False".

and when unprotected "Enabled = True"

geekgirlau
05-15-2005, 08:50 PM
I'm assuming that you're talking about a command button on a user form, although you could adapt this for a control on the sheet:

frmTest.cmdRun.Enabled = Not ActiveSheet.ProtectContents

tonyicu
05-17-2005, 09:19 AM
I'm a newb to this where (under what section in vb editor) would I enter it in I understand the script but how do I link it to a command button i don't get asked like I would if it was a forms button

geekgirlau
05-18-2005, 02:27 AM
Could you clarify what object you want to attach the code to? Is it a user form in the VB Editor? A button on the toolbar? A button on a worksheet? If attached to a button on the worksheet, which toolbar did you use to create the button?

tonyicu
05-18-2005, 05:20 AM
okay this is exactly what I need to do ... so from the top...:

this is a stock sheet to link the stock in our tokyo office.

the sheet has sets of 3 buttons

1 forms button called "take one" [-1]
1 forms dutton called "Put one back"[+1]
1 command button called "restock"[+20]

All those play with the sum in a cell (for example "B6")

the 2 forms button can be accessed by any one

I want the command button ("restock") to only be accessable when the sheet is unprotected... therefore enable=true when sheet is unprotected (enable=false when sheet is protected) what script would I need to do that and where would I put it in...?

geekgirlau
05-19-2005, 02:45 AM