PDA

View Full Version : Send Email to address in previous box

nickirvine
05-24-2010, 06:53 AM
Hi,

I'm new to excel vb so any help would really be appreciated.

I have a formula in excel which is the following:

=IF(D2>0, "NO", IF('Working Sheet'!H4>'Working Sheet'!F10, "YES", "NO" ))

I wondered if instead of it saying YES is it possible to display a button, which when clicked sends a email to an address defined on another worksheet with a defined subject and body text?

Any help really appreciated.

Thanks,

Nick

Aussiebear
05-24-2010, 03:50 PM
Which cell is likely to hold the value based on your formula?

nickirvine
05-25-2010, 12:31 AM
'Contacts'!E3

is where the email address will be.

Aussiebear
05-25-2010, 02:18 AM
I'm not understanding your formula very well. Does it actually function?

The logic suggests that if D2 > 0 then "No", but if it isn't then If Working Sheet!H4 > Working Sheet F10, "Yes","No"

So I need to ask you again, which cell holds the value resulting from this formula? You said you require a method of sending an email if the value is "Yes". This can be done but you need to be more explicit.

nickirvine
05-25-2010, 02:23 AM
Hi,

Thanks for sticking with me!

The forumula does work!

To explain a little more. I have loads of names listed who are required to respond once a month after a specific deadline, if it is after the deadline and they have not responded it says YES, if not it says NO..so the first part if D2>0 checks to see if there have been any responses, if no then it moves on..

The second part, checks the current date and compares with the deadline.

'Working Sheet'!H4>'Working Sheet'!F10,

If the current date is after the deadline then it says YES.

I'm sure ive probably done it the long way round! but now instead of saying YES i want it to display a button to enable me to send an email reminder. It has to pull the email address from another sheet:

'Contacts'!E3

Hope that explains things a little better.

Thanks for your help.