PDA

View Full Version : Solved: How to copy rows in different worksheets created on the fly

blindaue
06-09-2010, 11:35 AM
Hi
I am new to Excel VBA and have the following requirement on Excel 2003.
I have:
- a spreadsheet "Template" which is a template with calc, graph, formating and cell references within the spreadsheet only
- a spreadsheet "Raw Data" with around 20-30 rows of around 25 columns

I would like to create a VBA macro taht for each row of "Raw Data" to
- creates a new worksheet according to the template
- renames the newly created worksheet with the first col of the current row of "Raw Data"
- copies all the values of the row (and the header if possible, but this is optional) at the end of the newly created worksheet (this could be a fix row number, say row 50)

This would be an simplified example of "raw data" sheet data:

Company_Name ; Company_Type ; Country ; Revenue ; President...
"Shell" ; "Energy" ; "NL" ; "10000000000" ; "John Doe"...
"Novartis" ; "Pharma" ; "CH" ; "52000000000" ; "Jack N'Jill"...

I then would like to see 2 worksheets names respectively "Shell" and "Novartis" and having on row 50 the entire row pasted from the "Raw Data" sheet... These 2 spreadsheets are copies of the "template" worksheet present in the same workbook, with fields referencing values from the row 50 etc...

Thanks in advance for any pointer or hints

mdmackillop
06-09-2010, 02:47 PM
Welcome to VBAX

Give this a try

Sub Macro1()
Dim Cel As Range
With Sheets("Raw Data")
For Each Cel In Range(.Cells(2, 1), .Cells(Rows.Count, 1).End(xlUp))
Sheets("Template").Copy After:=Sheets(Sheets.Count)
ActiveSheet.Name = Cel
.Range("1:1," & Cel.Row & ":" & Cel.Row).Copy Cells(50, 1)
Next
End With
End Sub

blindaue
06-10-2010, 12:15 AM
Wow... Fantastic

There is so much more to learn to be able to do all this in only 5 lines of code...
:bow:
Thank you so much mdmackilltop!

This forum rocks!

blindaue
06-10-2010, 08:05 AM
A quick follow up on the solution.