PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Buttons

MonteCristo
06-13-2010, 05:57 PM
Hello,

I am new to VBA, just started playing around in it last month and I have to say I really like it so far. It's nice, the syntax is extremely easy to understand and read and I kinda wish everything in Computer Science would be written in VB :beerchug: .

Anyway, I hit a brick wall with something. Let's say I have a chart in the Worksheet. I would like to add a button (from the developer ribbon) that can toggle some parts of the chart on/off. For now, how do I make the legend appear and disappear with a button? I've searched a lot and the code should look like this:

Sub Button1_Click()

With Worksheets("Products").ChartObjects(1).Chart
If Button1.Value = True Then
.HasLegend = True
Else
.HasLegend = False
End If
End With

End Sub

The compiler doesn't recognize Button1, "Variable not defined". How do I make a toggle button in VBA without the User Forms, straight from the Developer Ribbon?

mbarron
06-13-2010, 07:01 PM
Try this instead:
Sub Button1_Click()
With Sheets("Sheet1").ChartObjects(1).Chart
.HasLegend = Not .HasLegend
End With
End Sub

MonteCristo
06-13-2010, 07:13 PM
Hey, thanks a lot! Nice thinking when it's a boolean attribute. But what if I want to toggle between actual values? Like toggle type of charts (3dpie or line chart) or what values it chooses to show in the chart, values in column A or in column B, I mean modifying the ".SetSourceData" with a click of a button.

Thanks again.

mbarron
06-13-2010, 08:07 PM
For changing the chart type, you can use:
Sub Button2_Click()
Dim i As Integer
For i = 1 To Sheets("sheet1").ChartObjects(1).Chart.SeriesCollection.Count
With Sheets("sheet1").ChartObjects(1).Chart.SeriesCollection(i)
If .ChartType = xlPie Then
.ChartType = xlColumnClustered
Else
.ChartType = xlPie
End If
End With
Next
End Sub