PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Calculate values in table using values in different table

K1ng
05-19-2005, 01:09 AM
Hey guys, I'm a newbie to the whole VBA thing an just wondering if you could help.

Im trying to create a word document with a table at the start with user-changable numbers in it. I would also like other tables througout the word document that have calculated values in them using the values in the first table.

Is this possible?

TonyJollans
05-19-2005, 06:10 AM
Hi K1ng,

Welcome to VBAX!

Yes, it is possible but it sounds more like a Word Form than a VBA requirement.

Set up the first table with Form Fields set to Calculate on Exit and wherever you want the user-entered data to be reproduced have other REF fields or calculated Fields (or FormFields).

Ken Puls
05-19-2005, 08:46 AM
Hi K1ng, and welcome to VBAX! :yes

Just an FYI, I've edited your thread title to be more reflective of the question. This does two things:

-Helps attract experts (like Tony) to your question
-Makes the board more searchable for others who have the same issue

Cheers!

K1ng
05-19-2005, 09:08 AM
Hi K1ng, and welcome to VBAX! :yes

Just an FYI, I've edited your thread title to be more reflective of the question. This does two things:

-Helps attract experts (like Tony) to your question
-Makes the board more searchable for others who have the same issue

Cheers!

Ok, thanks. I'll make future titles more descriptive.

K1ng
05-19-2005, 09:12 AM
Set up the first table with Form Fields set to Calculate on Exit and wherever you want the user-entered data to be reproduced have other REF fields or calculated Fields (or FormFields).

I've never really worked with fields and stuff in apps. How do i set up a field so that users can change it?

TonyJollans
05-19-2005, 09:32 AM
Dreamboat has a sample Form on TheOfficeExperts site - http://www.theofficeexperts.com/word.htm#Fill-inForms

That should get you started.