PDA

View Full Version : Userform Search help!

bpaddock
07-14-2010, 02:47 PM
Hello All,

I'm new to VBA so bare with me. I am trying to setup a userform that will allow the user to enter data and search my "Data" sheet and output the resulting rows into the "Results" sheet. The user form will have a combination of check boxes and txt boxes with one search button at the bottom. I want it to be able to search each criteria and narrow down the results if found, if nothing is entered in the box I just want it to skip over it and move on to the next search field.

What is the best way to approach this, there are so many different ways I've seen people do it. Will multiple .find's work for that many criteria? Or will something else work better. I really don't want to use a filter since that defeats the point of the userform.

Attached is the workbook containing the "Data" and "Results" sheet. I have already created the user form UserData. I have also added a Search button on the "Results" sheet to start the macro. The results should be copied into the 20th row of "Results".I want the first 4 check boxes to correspond to column D starting at row 12. I need the check boxes, if checked to search for a string with the same label beside it.

If someone can just help me out getting started, I know i can fill in the rest. I just don't know how to setup a multi search criteria and filter the results and output them to another sheet.

Attached is the Workbook in 2003 Excel format.

Thanks,

Brian

mikerickson
07-14-2010, 08:04 PM
...I really don't want to use a filter since that defeats the point of the userform...
I was going to suggest that you use AdvancedFilter. Its perfect for this (once the merged cells in the header row are fixed).

About "defeating the point of the userform". As I understand it, the purpose of the userform is to get the results.