PDA

View Full Version : Open and copy/paste data to same row...

ReneY
07-27-2010, 07:56 AM
Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to VBA and I'm trying to write a code, but I'm totally stuck.
I need to write a code that goes to a specific folder, opens each of the excel files that are in that folder (name and number of the files in that folder change monthly) copy specific cells from each file (file format is exactly the same, it's a template, cells to be copied are always: P5, I2, O3, E2 and Q41) and place them all in a file (Called "Monthly report"), all arranged in the same row, together with the name of the file they were taken from. Then go again to the folder with the files, open the next file and copy the same cells and arrange them next row down in the monthly report file and so on....

I know I have to rewrite it, but I ran out of ideas....I have something like this

Dim lCount As Long
Dim wbResults As Workbook
Dim wbCodeBook As Workbook

Application.ScreenUpdating = False
Application.DisplayAlerts = False
Application.EnableEvents = False

On Error Resume Next
Set wbCodeBook = ThisWorkbook
With Application.FileSearch
.NewSearch

.LookIn = "C:\Documents and Settings\ryanezga\Desktop\Files Rene\Macros\Files FG\ordered via"
.FileType = msoFileTypeExcelWorkbooks

If .Execute > 0 Then

For lCount = 1 To .FoundFiles.Count 'Loop through all
'Open Workbook x and Set a Workbook variable to it
Set wbResults = Workbooks.Open(Filename:=.FoundFiles(lCount), UpdateLinks:=0)

wbResults.Close SaveChanges:=False
Next lCount
End If
End With
On Error GoTo 0
Application.ScreenUpdating = True
Application.DisplayAlerts = True
Application.EnableEvents = True

ActiveWorkbook.SaveAs Filename:= _
"C:\Documents and Settings\ryanezga\Desktop\Files Rene\Macros\Files FG\ordered via\Monthly Report.xls"