PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Painfully slow PowerPoint automation in Office 2010

Sycdan
08-02-2010, 12:08 PM
Hi all,

Firstly, a little introduction: I have been writing VBA code for about 4 years, for multiple clients within one very large company, with a great deal of focus put on speed and efficiency. Most of what I do amounts to producing sales performance reports in PowerPoint (sometimes Excel). I generally store code in Excel workbooks -- "codebooks" -- and manipulate Access & PowerPoint from there, where needed.

Until very recently, I was using Office 2003, and all was well with the world. Then, my clients started upgrading to 2010; I followed suit, having done a bit of research to determine (or so I thought) that the vast majority of my code would work as it always had. I was largely correct, with a couple of notable exceptions, one of which is why I am here seeking your help.

I have a very large monthly report, which consists of creating around 20 presentations containing 200 or so slides each, with a lot of charts and tables. These all require a large amount of data, the raw form of which I parse into an Access database then load into Excel's memory (consuming about 1GB of it) before creating any presentations, so it's all available at runtime. Might sound silly, but after a great deal of experimentation, that was by far the fastest method I found. In Office 2003, creating the presentations took about 20 minutes per, which I thought to be just about tolerable. In stark contrast, Office 2010 requires 2-3 hours to do exactly the same thing (create one of the many presentations). This is just not acceptable to me, and I really hope someone can give me some insight into how I might speed things up, if it's even possible.

Now for my actual observations: