PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Sequential unique numbering in excel

valendj
08-11-2010, 08:49 AM
Hi,
I need help creating a sequential unique number in excel using a macro. I would like to be able to double click on any cell in column A and return the next number/text in the sequence JDI1, JDI12, JDI3. I have heard of using a txt document to retrieve the next number but I don’t know how to do that. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I have no experience using VBA and I would need a step-by-step guide. I will donate a minimum of $25 to the site for help. Thank you in advance for any attempts or suggestions.

Thanks

Bob Phillips
08-11-2010, 09:11 AM
Try

ActiveCell.Value = "JD" & Application.Evaluate("MAX(IF(LEFT(A1:A100,2)=""JD"",--MID(A1:A100,3,99)))") + 1

Kenneth Hobs
08-11-2010, 09:14 AM
Where will the unique numbers be stored? How will they be used? Could there be gaps in the sequential numbers?

e.g.
A1=Ken10
A2=Ken11
A3=Ken12

If A5 was doubleclicked, would Ken13 be expected?

Considering only A1:A3 as above, if A2 is doubleclicked, would you expect Ken11 to be replaced with Ken11 or Ken13? If Ken13, then Ken11 would be missing?

The Knowledge base has some articles on sequential numbers for filenames. Similar concepts can be used.

valendj
08-11-2010, 10:15 AM
@ Kenneth Hobs

I don't care were the unique numbers are stored a text file not sure how to do that..?I would like if clicked Ken11 was replaced with ken13. There can be gaps in the sequential number and the double-click was just a thought. I wouldn't mind a trigger such as if the cell in the next column activated the sequence.

" Where will the unique numbers be stored? How will they be used? Could there be gaps in the sequential numbers?

e.g.
A1=Ken10
A2=Ken11
A3=Ken12

Considering only A1:A3 as above, if A2 is doubleclicked, would you expect Ken11 to be replaced with Ken11 or Ken13? If Ken13, then Ken11 would be missing? "

valendj
08-11-2010, 10:18 AM
Hi,