PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Fast Cut and Paste

Imdabaum
08-12-2010, 04:39 PM
I've found a few examples of cutting and pasting, but as most of my previous posts show, I'm a beginner when it comes to Excel and none of the copy/cut paste examples involved conditions.

I have a sheet with about 6k-10k rows of data. Many of these are duplicates and in order to identify the duplicates I simply create a new column and fill down so A1=(B1=B2), A2=(B2=B3), A3=(B3=B4) etc..

This gives me a column of True values where the data is exactly the same as the row below it.

We don't delete these items, but cut and paste them to the bottom of the list with a row separator.
So the sheet ends up looking like this:

{list}
blank row
{deleted items}

So is there a fast way to say,

If A#= True, Row.Select, Row.Cut, Goto Last line below separator, Row.Paste and repeat until it reaches the separator?

geekgirlau
08-12-2010, 05:22 PM
Before looking at a method to cut and paste the data, I'd be exploring other options:

Determine the first record for the field that you are testing (you can basically do this using the formula you have right now). You can then filter the list to only show the first record, and copy those records to a separate sheet.
Is it only one field that is duplicated? If it's the whole record, you can perform an advanced filter to show unique records only, then copy those to a separate sheet.
Is is absolutely necessary to keep the duplicates? What purpose does it serve?Personally I've not a fan of having the data categorised by where it sits on the sheet. You end up wasting too much time moving records around, where a simple filter would be far more effective.

Keep in mind that often we get hung up on how to do something in a specific way, when in fact we should question the process and assumptions that we are using. Find the most efficient process first, THEN automate it.

Artik
08-12-2010, 07:16 PM
Try it:Sub Filter_unique()
Dim rngData As Range