PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Listing all files in directory including zip files

mnementh
08-13-2010, 12:00 PM
My name's Sandy and I'd like to introduce myself to the forum.

I'm 58 years old and into electronics and Karaoke, among other things.

I work in the MIcrowave industry, dealing with Microstrip and Radar equipment.

It's on the subject of Karaoke that I've joined the forum as I have a problem it seems can only be solved through VBA and Excel.

I have 50,000+ Karaoke tracks in .ZIP format as follows;

SF001-01 - Stewart, Rod - Maggie Mae.ZIP

This is DISC ID (separator) ARTIST (separator) Song.ZIP

What I'm trying to do is eliminate duplicate songs from my list and to get things into perspective, My Way by Frank Sinatra is repeated over 200 times by various Karaoke disc manufacturers.

If that wasn't bad enough, minor filename errors preclude the use of simple duplicate file finders.

My initial, apparently simple problem, is to get a list of all my files onto a spreadsheet as complete paths.

To this end, I tried this Excel code from this site;

Unfortunately, as my post count is <5, I can't post a direct link to the web article but if you Google for "Create File List Excel VBA" (no "", obviously) virtually the first hit will bring you to VBA Express.

Now, as all my files are in .ZIP format, anybody like to have a guess at what files don't list correctly?

The program code from above, happily lists everything in my selected folder/subfolders EXCEPT .ZIP files. My test folder has over 1,000 files in it but only the non .ZIP files show.

Can anyone shed some light on why this seems to happen?

The .ZIP files are NOT hidden or system files and should show up but don't.

I'm stumped and any assistance would be much appreciated.

Sandy

Kenneth Hobs
08-13-2010, 12:31 PM
Welcome to the forum! Please use descriptive text for your title for new posts.