PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Excel VBA - Save As with Password

Andybuck86
08-23-2010, 04:13 AM
Hi,

I'm new to VBA and was hoping for a little help from you!

I have a spreadsheet that will be distributed to several members of staff. Each of those staff members will need to complete the sheet, save the spreadsheet with the right file name, save it in the right location AND password protect the document.

Therefore to make things easier for them I am hoping to create a VBA.

My aim is this:

- Create a button
- When button pressed by user: Save As - filename (based on two cells in the document, Employee Name and Payroll Month)
- Save it in the correct location on a network drive
- Give the user an option to create a password to protect the document
- Create an administrator password so that office staff can access without knowing what password the user created.

Is any of this even possible? And if so pretty please help me! :banghead:

GTO
08-23-2010, 04:30 AM
Greetings Andy,

Welcome to vbaexpress! There are a lot of good folks here, you'll be able to learn a lot:yes

As to your questions:

I have a spreadsheet that will be distributed to several members of staff. Each of those staff members will need to complete the sheet, save the spreadsheet with the right file name, save it in the right location AND password protect the document.

Therefore to make things easier for them I am hoping to create a VBA.

My aim is this:

- Create a button

Not a problem...

- When button pressed by user: Save As - filename (based on two cells in the document, Employee Name and Payroll Month)
This is certainly doable; you will want to include code to check and make sure the user has not typed in illegal characters.

- Save it in the correct location on a network drive

Presuming this will be a constant, no problem as well.

- Give the user an option to create a password to protect the document