PDA

View Full Version : Calling Function with 2 args results in "Expected: =" compile error

rubinho
09-07-2010, 08:08 AM
Background; I'm a C++/C# Windows programmer who has delved into an Excel VBA project. I've played with it a bit before but I find the environment a little unfriendly and the language a bit scary! I used to write BBC Basic 20+ years ago and MS QuickBASIC about 15 years ago!

I have a function declared:

Function FindX(ByVal First as Integer, ByVal Second as Integer) As Range

Set FindX = Cells(1, 1)

End Function
If I reference:
FindX(1, 2) from a Proc I get a compile error "Expected: =". I've done some digging and I have tried the following:

FindX 1, 2 ' get rid of the parentheses
Call FindX(1, 2) ' use the Call keyword
Neither of these do what I want. Ultimately, the function will do something useful and I would like to assign and do something with the result.

Strangely I have a function with just one parameter which is declared and referenced in exactly the same way which works just fine.

I'm very confused!

Bob Phillips
09-07-2010, 08:12 AM
It is returning a range object, so you need to assign it to a range object

Set rng = FindX(1, 2)

rubinho
09-07-2010, 08:19 AM
It is returning a range object, so you need to assign it to a range object

Set rng = FindX(1, 2)

I was just about to add, if I do assign it to a range object e.g.

Dim thing As Range

Set thing = FindX(1, 2)
I get an error saying "Object variable or With block variable not set".

My other identical-except-for-having-just-one-argument Function I can reference simply FindY(1) without any assignment.

Bob Phillips
09-07-2010, 08:26 AM
I was just about to add, if I do assign it to a range object e.g.

Dim thing As Range

Set thing = FindX(1, 2)
I get an error saying "Object variable or With block variable not set".

It works fine for me, which suggests that there is more that we are not (yet) aware of.