PDA

View Full Version : Controlling the display of a text box

Joy Cooper
09-09-2010, 03:33 AM
I'm wondering if there's a way of controlling the display of a text box in a worksheet, when the value of the cell G25 = 0.

I would prefer to use a text box as opposed to a User Form as I need the text box to remain in view whilst the user continues to navigate around the worksheet. I've noticed that when a user form is in view the worksheet becomes inaccessible.

Thank you.

GTO
09-09-2010, 03:35 AM
Greetings Joy,

What do you mean by 'controlling the display'?

Mark

Joy Cooper
09-09-2010, 03:40 AM
What I'm trying to do is literally turn the visibility of the text box on and off. i.e.

=If(G25=0, "Display text box", hide) or in VBA speak

If Range("G25").value = 0 Then
textbox.show
End if

This would work for a userform, but there appears to be no way of applying a name to a text box from the "Drawing" toolbar.

Thank you.

GTO
09-09-2010, 04:01 AM
I'm not very good with Shapes, but see if either of the following help at all.

Option Explicit

Sub HideTBox()
Dim TBox As Shape

Set TBox = Me.Shapes("Text Box 1")

If Range("G25").Value = 0 And Not Range("G25").Value = vbNullString Then
TBox.Visible = msoTrue
Else
TBox.Visible = msoFalse
End If

End Sub

Sub HideTextBox()
Dim TBox As Shape

TBox.Visible = TBox.Visible = msoFalse
End Sub

Joy Cooper
09-09-2010, 06:06 AM
Thank you for responding.

I've tried both methods by entering the code (seperately) into a module and then assigning a macro to the text box, but regrettably, neither seemed to do the trick.

I'm relatively new to VBA - am I right in saying that this code should be in a Module?

Joy Cooper
09-09-2010, 06:07 AM
Sorry I should also have said, I tried in the Sheet window as well.

GTO
09-09-2010, 07:22 AM
Thank you for responding.

I've tried both methods by entering the code (seperately) into a module and then assigning a macro to the text box, but regrettably, neither seemed to do the trick.