PDA

View Full Version : Need to make DTPicker invisible based on another cell's value.

Remnant
09-10-2010, 10:11 AM
Hello,

This is my first post here and I'm still pretty new to VBA. First of all I'm using Excel 2003. I have a small problem in which I am trying to make a DTPicker control go invisible after another cell, which simply has Validation with only active, inactive as the options, reads "INACTIVE".

IE: Cell linked to DTPicker - E4, Cell with validation drop-down box - I4.

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated! Thanks!

Zack Barresse
09-10-2010, 10:35 AM
Hi there, welcome to the board!

You can use something like this as your worksheet change event...
Option Explicit

Const sCheck As String = "I4"

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Intersect(Target, Me.Range(sCheck)) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If UCase(Target.Value) = "INACTIVE" Then
Me.DTPicker1.Visible = False
Else
Me.DTPicker1.Visible = True
End If
End Sub

Remnant
09-10-2010, 10:51 AM
Hi there, welcome to the board!

You can use something like this as your worksheet change event...
Option Explicit

Const sCheck As String = "I4"

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)
If Target.Cells.Count > 1 Then Exit Sub
If Intersect(Target, Me.Range(sCheck)) Is Nothing Then Exit Sub
If UCase(Target.Value) = "INACTIVE" Then
Me.DTPicker1.Visible = False
Else
Me.DTPicker1.Visible = True
End If
End Sub

Thanks for the quick response! The code works, however there seems to be a glitch happening after I close the spreadsheet and re-open with it being invisible. It isn't retaining it's size or aspect ratio, even with it locked. Is there a way I can actually embed it inside the cell?

Zack Barresse
09-10-2010, 10:58 AM
It's probably a display issue. Scroll your screen down and then back up. Does that fix it? The control shouldn't actually resize on its own.

Remnant
09-10-2010, 11:12 AM