PDA

View Full Version : Please help with VBA project

progdude
09-17-2010, 11:08 AM
Hey guys, im a second year engineering student and really need help with my VBA project. Here is the question... Any help will be much appreciated! Thanks

------
Task in VBA -2010.
Imagine a large number of near-sighted birds who have excellent memories, hearing and spatial awareness (ruimtelike oriëntasie). They are flying in search of the highest points of a forest of poles, planted in a two-dimensional space x,y. When you find the birds, they are flying each in a random xy position (x0i and y0i for bird number i, within a search space limited by xmin, xmax, ymin, ymax). Since each bird can only see its immediate surrounds, they rely on each other to find the highest point. Each second, the birds call out to each other and through their excellent hearing, they determine the xy position from where the highest call came from, which they call xG and yG.
Once they’ve located the position of the highest call, they change their velocity, based on two things. Stored in their excellent memories they have the xy position of their own best point visited so far (xBi and yBi for bird number i). Also they have xG and yG of the flock’s highest point at that specific time.
Assume their current velocity can be expressed as two vectors in the xy space. We’ll call these two velocities vxi and vyi for bird number i. Each bird also knows its position xi and yi. Using these variables they change their velocity according to the following formula:
vxi = vxi +a( xG - xi) + b(xBi - xi)
and vyi = vyi +a( yG - yi) + b(yBi - yi)
Assume all the variables are in metre and that the velocities are thus in m/s. The a and b variables are variables that have two components (userpref_a*random for a and userpref_b*random for b)
You need to determine the velocities and positions of every bird at one second intervals.