PDA

View Full Version : Help with Sort macro based on Data Valiation value

dbmagnus
09-21-2010, 12:49 PM
I am new to VB and need help. I’ve searched the forum(s) and can’t quite find the code I need. I'm using Excel 2010. My problem is simple, really. I have a data validation list. When I select a value from the list (cell “B1”) , I have two columns of data with VLOOKUPS that reference the drop-down value (the data columns are range A4:C33). All I want to happen is each time I select a value from the data validation list, I want to sort the range A4:C33 by column B ,descending.

I copied the sort macro as:
Sub Sort1()
'
' Sort1 Macro
'
Range("A4:C34").Select
ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("UU Graph").Sort.SortFields.Clear
ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("UU Graph").Sort.SortFields.Add Key:=Range("B5:B34") _
, SortOn:=xlSortOnValues, Order:=xlDescending, DataOption:=xlSortNormal
With ActiveWorkbook.Worksheets("UU Graph").Sort
.SetRange Range("A4:C34")
.Header = xlYes
.MatchCase = False
.Orientation = xlTopToBottom
.SortMethod = xlPinYin
.Apply
End With
Range("C1").Select
End Sub

I know, it's probably crude for a simple sort, but it works. What I haven't had success with is finding code that says when the value of cell B1 changes, to re-sort the range (i.e. run the macro).

Thanks in advance for your help!

austenr
09-21-2010, 01:06 PM
Hi welcome to VBAX!! You will want to put that code in the Worksheet_Change event in your VBA code.

Open your editor, select the sheet UUGraph from the upper left window by double clicking it.

Next, in the bigger window to the right, on the left drop down change it to Worksheet. It should automatically change to Worksheet_Change.

Copy and paste your code (minus the Sub and End Sub) in between the existing Sub and End Sub.

Give it a go!!

dbmagnus
09-21-2010, 03:35 PM
That works great! But now I'm having a couple issues: