PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Find a text in workbook and...

Mistiqe
10-01-2010, 11:33 PM
Hello,

first of all I would like to apologize in advance for any mistakes in this post as English is not my native language. So bear with me please, I'm doing my best.

I started my adventure with Excel couple of days ago so I'm a newbie, but I want to learn, that's why I'm here. I can do basic Excel stuff because it's pretty easy. I do have problems with more advanced stuff though. Like now. Let me describe my assignment. Please open the attachments for better understanding.

I've got two example workbooks: info.xml and list.xml. The info.xml is missing some data which can be found in list.xml. Now, I would like to write a VBA code, a macro, that would:

1. Search the name in column A in info.xml
2. Fill out the missing data in info.xml accordingly based on list.xml

So if it finds "John Doe" in info.xml I would like the macro to fill out the "Age", "Day" and "Status" data which can be found in list.xml. Then repeat the process for the remaining names. The original file is a lot bigger, this is just an example.

I don't even know where to begin. I tried to search your forum for an answer but 1000+ pages is just too much : pray2: Plus, when I use the "search" function it gives me inaccurate results as my question is too complex for the search engine and I have no idea how to define my search question. That's why I decided to start a new thread. Is there somebody who knows how to write that code? I would really appreciate any help.

macropod
10-02-2010, 12:04 AM
Hi Mistique,

With both workbooks open, insert the following formulae into 'Info.xls' at:
C2 =INDEX([list.xls]Sheet1!B$1:B$100,(MATCH($A2,[list.xls]Sheet1!$A1:$A100,0)))
F2 =INDEX([list.xls]Sheet1!C$1:C$100,(MATCH($A2,[list.xls]Sheet1!$A1:$A100,0)))
Copy the formula from F2 across to G2, then copy all three formulae down as far as needed.