PDA

View Full Version : Unwanted VBA Related Save Window

fdanbold
10-07-2010, 04:57 PM
First of all, I'm an absolute beginner with this so sorry if this is a stupid question but hopefully it'll be easy to solve!

For a psych study, I developed a powerpoint that incorporates text boxes, checkboxes and scrollbars that participants can fill out as the powerpoint runs in kiosk mode. I'm running it as a .pps in Medialab but as the powerpoint ends and the next section ends a window pops up asking if I would like to save the changes made to the powerpoint. I read on a Medialab forum that there is a way of using VBA to initialize all the elements I use so that this window doesn't pop up. I've tried a few things, but I can't get this pop up window to go away. Can anyone help? Thanks!

fdanbold
10-11-2010, 12:09 PM
I've noticed a lot of people have looked at this, so maybe some clarification will help get some responses. For example, I have one slide with 4 text box objects on it. Double clicking the text boxes pulls up the VBA where I see the following:
Private Sub TextBox1_Change()
End Sub
Private Sub TextBox2_Change()
End Sub
Private Sub TextBox3_Change()
End Sub
Private Sub TextBox4_Change()
End Sub

Through my rampant googling, the best suggestions I've seen are to 'initialize' the data and trick powerpoint into thinking it's saved (activepresentation.quit). Using the shotgun approach, here's what I had entered below. (Try not to laugh)
Private Sub TextBox1_Initialize()
ActivePresentation.Saved = True
ActivePresentation.Quit
End Sub
Private Sub TextBox2_Initialize()
ActivePresentation.Quit
End Sub
Private Sub TextBox3_Initialize()
ActivePresentation.Quit
End Sub
rivate Sub TextBox4_Initialize()
ActivePresentation.Quit
End Sub

As you can tell, I am a huge n00b at this. If you can help or at least refer me to some simple tutorials, I'd be extremely grateful!

John Wilson
10-11-2010, 09:53 PM