PDA

View Full Version : fitting shapes in a frame

PGO
10-08-2010, 12:42 AM
Dear all,

This is my first time on a forum and have never posted a thread before, so first of all sorry if I break any rule with my question...

I've got following problem:
I have a big rectangular (say with lenght a and width b), and in this rectangular I want see if a combination of 10 other rectangulars with variable dimensions fit (using a VBA-frame or excel to enter the dimensions).

Because the rectangulars can be turned in any position as long as they fit the big one, it's very hard to draw and create formulas.

Has anyone have perhaps an idea how to start writing the code for this?

Thanks and with kind regards!

Aussiebear
10-08-2010, 04:27 AM
Welcome to VBAX PGO. Can't say I've ever heard of anyone ever asking this type of question before. Please be patient, someone may come along with an idea for you.

MWE
10-08-2010, 07:39 AM
Dear all,

This is my first time on a forum and have never posted a thread before, so first of all sorry if I break any rule with my question...

I've got following problem:
I have a big rectangular (say with lenght a and width b), and in this rectangular I want see if a combination of 10 other rectangulars with variable dimensions fit (using a VBA-frame or excel to enter the dimensions).

Because the rectangulars can be turned in any position as long as they fit the big one, it's very hard to draw and create formulas.

Has anyone have perhaps an idea how to start writing the code for this?

Thanks and with kind regards!There are two ways to think about the "objects in a box" problem:
you have N objects (you know the shape and orientation of each object) and you wish to find a box (or other regular object) that will enclose the original N.