PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Shell Command and Flash Drive Paths

aerodoc
10-19-2010, 05:18 PM
I am trying to use a modified version of the "Shell and Wait" code from this source:

Google "shell and wait vba" and it will be on the appspro site (I cannot link to it now since I am a newbie)

But I found that if I use the "save as" feature and save to a flash drive, it will not run:

The modified version will first set the path and then run an executable. A modified example would be to copy the calc.exe to calc2.exe and put it in dir "test".

Original code from link:
If Not bShellAndWait("Calc.exe", vbNormalFocus) Then Err.Raise 9999

Modified Code:
ChDir "C:\test\"
If Not bShellAndWait("calc2") Then Err.Raise 9999

I changed it up to represent the way I am actually calling the executable. Any idea why after using the "save as" to a flash drive, it wont' run properly? If you restart the file, then it will work.

Thanks for any help! I simply cannot lick this, nor understand what is going on. Fixing this may also solve another problem...but one step at a time.

Aussiebear
10-19-2010, 10:28 PM
Have a look here http://www.cpearson.com/excel/ShellAndWait.aspx

Kenneth Hobs
10-20-2010, 05:12 AM
Use the full path to the EXE rather than leaving it to Windows to look for it. Windows only looks in the paths that are Set and on occasion the current path. Using the current path assumption may be the wrong assumption.

So, the reason Calc.exe works is that Windows looks at c:\windows\system32 by default. To see the paths set, Start > Run > CMD > OK > PATH > Enter > Exit. You can use VBA to get the environment variable Path as well.

aerodoc
10-20-2010, 07:41 AM
Aussiebear,

I tried that, but got the same result. But thanks for mentioning it since there may some other benefits of that approach.

Kenneth,

I currently use the following to set the path, right before I have the shell command:
ChDir "C:\test\"