PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Copy Values and Formats to a new workbook VBA

gcam032
11-25-2010, 10:11 AM
Hi everyone,

There have been related questions on the web but nothing has really helped me unfortunately, probably because I am a complete beginner to VBA.

I was hoping to get some help on this one from someone who can work step by step.

Here's my dilemma. I have a workbook in excel 2007 full of data and sheets that all update dynamically. The person who I share this information with has excel 2003 and so some of the ways I have created the dynamic components are not compatible (especially some advanced conditional formatting).

So what I would like to do is to have a button in my 2007 workbook that runs a macro that does the following:

1. Creates a new workbook
2. Copies some specific worksheets from my 2007 workbook to the new one
- I need it to copy ONLY the values and formats and any logos that are in the sheets.

Can anyone help me get started?

Thanks in advance!!

Gareth

Bob Phillips
11-25-2010, 10:49 AM
Just save the file as a 97-2003 Excel file, and all of the 2007 formats will be lost.

gcam032
11-26-2010, 02:54 AM
Hi thanks for that, although it doesn't solve my issue.

If I do that, yes I can save it, but my conditional formatting that only works in 2007 is lost and some of the values that are in Euros are formatted as USD (for example). My workaround for this is to try and create a macro so that I can set my currency as Euros, run the macro to export the whole workbook as values and formats and then change the currency to USD and run it again so that I have two new workbooks with the correct formatting. Further to this I will only need certain sheets and I want to lose all formulas so that they just get a static report of values.

Thanks

Gareth

Bob Phillips
11-26-2010, 03:14 AM