PDA

View Full Version : Is it possible to do a TimeDiff expression or function on a multi-selected combo box?

wedd
01-21-2011, 02:26 AM
Hi all, is it possible to do a TimeDiff expression or function on a multi-selected combo box with different times to workout the hourly difference between start times and end times in 2 separate combo box drop down lists? A combo box is displaying start times and a separate combo box is displaying end times with the results displayed in a textbox called (How many hours?). I will like the user to see the time differences in hours. Is this possible to do this using either vba, expression, query etc? If so, how can I do this? If you have any examples that show the steps that would be very useful or if you know of any websites that explains how to do this...as I am still a bit of a novice.

Thanks for your contributions :friends:

hansup
01-21-2011, 09:44 AM
Sounds to me like you have your combo bound to a multi-valued field. That's the only way I know of to create a combo box which is multi-selectable. If that's the case, I'm unsure whether you'll be able to attract any help.

But you should clarify what you want to accomplish. For example, if the user selects 8 AM and 9 AM in the first combo, and 9, 10 and 11 AM in the second combo how do you want the difference in hours calculated? Show us an example.

wedd
01-21-2011, 10:37 AM
Hansup, the first combo box per say is the starting times 10AM to 11PM and the second combo box is the finishing times 11:30 AM to 11PM. In fact, I used your example you sent me and I think it works, I'll test it.( = [FinishTime] - [StartTime]...) What I really need is a validation rule to prevent the user from mistakenly selecting a finishing time that is earlier than a starting time. Would you know of any validation rule OR TimeDiff expressions I could use to handle this problem? Thanks!

hansup
01-21-2011, 10:46 AM
Please clarify.