PDA

View Full Version : Recipients or received account object in VBA

unicav
02-09-2011, 10:57 AM
Greetings all and let me say up front I'm an IT not a programmer, but I have to dabble in everything from bash to vbs with some projects. I normally can work something out with a little direction but so far I'm hitting a brick wall on this and I hope someone here can help. Please forgive me if I'm long winded here but I want to try and fully explain what's going on and what my goal is.

I am using a vba to save attachments from emails to specific folders. I have several email addresses that are used by sites to send us documents for archiving. The email addresses correspond to their areas and the type of document. The VBA has subroutines for each email account and I use a message rule for each account to fire the VBA and have the attachments saved to the correct directory. That's fine for the first 4-5 accounts that simply dump the PDF's into the proper directory. The remaining accounts require splitting the incoming PDF's into separate TIF pages for an automated system to analyze. I have a python script that handles that and it takes a couple arguments from the VBA, the Source File and the Destination Directory. What's bothering me is I'm winding up with a dozen message rules and a dozen subroutines in the VBA to handle everything. It's messy and redundant and I know there's a better way to handle it. But then again we're talking about VBA right?