PDA

View Full Version : Best Practices: Dynamic Ribbons

Frosty
02-17-2011, 01:45 PM
EDIT: Sorry: this is Word 2010, although I think it probably applies to 2007 as well. Perhaps this should be in the Ribbon area, rather than the Word area.

I'm a pretty experienced coder, but really just making the foray into the 2007/2010 type environment in the past year. In this next year, my firm will be moving to Word 2010, and I'm doing a lot of proof of concept research right now.

What are the best practices you have worked out for creating/adjusting the ribbon?

I know you can:
1. Hard-code all of the various attributes to your custom ribbon controls into the xml...

2. Or use a series of callbacks (getLabel, getImage, etc) to dynamically assign values to various properties.

But how do you organize your data? How do you quickly add a button, remove a button?

I'm familiar with the Custom UI Editor for Office, and am thankful someone programmed it over at openxml.org.

But I've currently settled on a system where basically the only data I store in the xml is the button name (which has to be unique), and then everything else about the buttons I've worked out to be dynamic (even custom images-- see another thread I did).

And I'm currently storing my ribbon data in a custom class called RibbonControls, which has the following properties:
ArrayControlsInfo
ControlType
Exists
GetInfo
ID (this is the default)
ImageUsingCustom
Label
OnAction
ScreenTip
Size
SuperTip
Visible

And the following methods
ArrayRebuild
Class_Initialize

I have a public enum that looks like this:

Public Enum RibbonControlInfo
binfid
binfLabel
binfSize
binfImage
binfImageMso
binfOnAction
binfScreentip
binfSupertip
binfVisible
binfControlType
[_HIGH]
End Enum
This allows me to set up my private array of ribbon control data so that it looks something like the following:

'if we add to our number of elements in the enum, this should automatically