PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Getting started on VBA project

rodneywead
02-23-2011, 09:45 AM
I am looking for information on how to get started on a project I am voluntarily undertaking at work. I would like to point out I am not looking for (as of right now) specific direct code. I am doing this project to try and learn VBA and simply copying and pasting code is not going to do me any good. I have a couple of books on VBA that I have read a little bit of.

I work in a warehouse that does a weekly audit of inventory. The warehouse is divided up into different sections (or mods as we call them) and I have to calculate how many errors are in each mod. I am currently just copying the defects into excel from an internal website. Once that is copied I have to find the mod using a simple left function (……….=left(A1,5)) to get the mod. I then import the weekly count from an already written SQL function and calculate the defections using excel.

I would like to automate this with VBA. I would like to be able to pull the information from the website and SQL and calculate it using VBA. The information on the website is in two links from the main website that update every week. (example………….Count for the week of February 13 has two links that have the information that I need)

How can I get started on this? Thank you for your time and help.

Rodney Wead

Tinbendr
02-23-2011, 05:24 PM
How can I get started on this? Whew! You said a mouthful!

First of all, welcome to VBA Express and what version of Excel do you have?

Is the database in a table on the website? Can it be pulled in via Web Query?

Are you currently pulling the SQL data into Excel from a network?

rodneywead
02-24-2011, 06:25 AM
Thanks for the welcome. I am using Excel 2010. The database is not in a table on the website. I think you could pull it into a web query, but I am not sure. I am pulling the SQL data from MySql browser 1.2.17 which is connected to a computer network at the company.

IBihy