PDA

View Full Version : extract more than 1 file extension from a directory path

futonguy
03-02-2011, 01:33 AM
Hi all,

I am not sure if i should be posting at this site of the forum.
But my question is:

How can i extract the file directory with files containing extension *.xls and *.csv file?

Currently i can only extract a single extension file.

here's my code:
strFile = Dir(strFolder & "*.xls")
'strFile = Dir(strFolder & "*.csv")
While strFile <> "" 'while strFile NOT EQUAL TO
intFile = intFile + 1
ReDim Preserve strFileList(1 To intFile)
strFileList(intFile) = strFile
strFile = Dir()
Wend
hope to get some advise soon
Cheers

MitchO
03-02-2011, 08:22 AM
Forgive me, this is my first attempt at responding, so I may be missing some obvious stuff, but I'm confused by what you're asking the code to do versus what it does.

You are looking for any strFolder that has a .xls and a .csv inside of it? strFile in your code will give you the name of the first .xls file inside strFolder. For example:

Dir("C:\*.txt")
for me, returns bdlog.txt, the first text file in the main C:\ folder.

If you want a folder that contains both, just check both situations in If .. And .. :

If Dir(strFolder & "*.xls") <> "" And Dir(strFolder & " *.csv") <> "" Then
intFile = intFile + 1
ReDim Preserve strFileList(1 to intFile)
strFileList(intFile) = strFolder
End If

If you want the names of both files inside the folder, are they going in the same strFileList array? Then you just check for both, and add them one at a time:

If Dir(strFolder & "*.xls") <> "" And Dir(strFolder & " *.csv") <> "" Then
intFile = intFile + 1
strFileList(intFile) = Dir(strFolder & "*.xls")

intFile = intFile + 1
strFileList(intFile) = Dir(strFolder & "*.csv")

End If
(There are probably cleaner ways to keep your intFile and ReDim Preserves at that point, but for simplicity's sake for now)

Hope I sent you on the right track!