PDA

View Full Version : Help with converting early binding to late binding

crarbo1
03-06-2011, 03:36 PM
Hello,
I'm hoping someone will be able to help me fix my issue. I have inherited some word documents that update an Excel spreadsheet. I'm not an expert in VBA but can do some basic things. The issue I have is that the word documents were created in Word 2000 and reference the Excel library. If someone opens the file in Word 2010 and saves it, then there is a compile error when someone else opens it up in Word 2000. It appears that reference to the Excel library is missing when it is opened back up in Word 2000. In trying to find a solution, it appears that taking code that uses early binding and converting it to late binding would resolve my issue. Is that correct? I really have no idea as to what to do but I have attached my code for your reference. From what I read, it is using early binding.
Thanks,
Chuck

Sub UpdateTrainingLog()
Dim xlApp As Object
Dim xlb As Object
Dim wksht As Object
Dim r As Integer
Dim LogName As String
Dim ShortLogName As String
Dim SSO As String
Dim TName As String
Dim Standard As String
Dim mrange As Object
Dim uresp As Integer

On Error GoTo XLError
ThisDocument.FormFields("Approval").Range.Tables(1).Cell(1, 1).Range.Text = "Updating training log..."
LogName = "\\TestFolder\EMC Training Log.xls"
ShortLogName = "EMC Training Log.xls"
Set xlApp = New Excel.Application
Set xlb = xlApp.Workbooks.Open(FileName:=LogName, writerespassword:="straub") ' Excel.Workbooks.Open(rffile)
If xlb.ReadOnly = True Then 'User does not have read/write permission
MsgBox "You do not have permission to access the server where the EMC Training Log is located, therefore your training record has NOT been updated as required." & vbCrLf & vbCrLf & "Corrective action: Please contact Dave Terrell to have your name added to the server permissions list.", vbCritical + vbOKOnly, "Access denied to training log"
xlb.Close SaveChanges:=False
GoTo XLBail
End If