PDA

View Full Version : Need help in creating complex macro.

Nemesis696
04-06-2011, 04:59 AM
Hi guys, need serious help here. :help
I'm using Excel 2010 and I'm new to macros. :dunno If you like some challenge, please help.
Need to create a master file (call it "FDA Master file") with multiple sheets (call first sheet "First Page"), with a button on "First Page" called "Save As and close",
which Saves as like this C:\DA\"value of 'First Page'!A14:S14" (those cells are marget) + "own text" + "value of 'First Page'!AA12:AC12" + "current date and time" + ".xlsx"
After activating "Save As and close" show notification "file name - saved in C:\DA\"file name" ", auto-close "FDA master file" and remove "Save As and close" macro button from newly created .xlsx file.

Any help, is appreciated. :friends:

Bob Phillips
04-06-2011, 05:04 AM
I would create a template file with all of the sheets and buttons that you need, and just open and save that

Nemesis696
04-06-2011, 08:05 AM
xld, thanks for quick replay!

Sorry, as I mentioned, I'm new to this macro stuff. I have converted my "FDA Master file" to Microsoft Excel Macro-Enabled Template (.xltm), and I can't really find any difference from my "FDA Master file.XLSM" and diferent way of adding macros.
So, is it even possible, to create macro to work as I specified above?

I would create a template file with all of the sheets and buttons that you need, and just open and save that

Bob Phillips
04-06-2011, 08:07 AM
You don't need any macros in that. All you need is a simple macro in say Personal.xls to open the template, and then save it in the desired name format. You could add a button or a menu item to fire the macro.

Nemesis696
04-06-2011, 08:27 AM