PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED:] SaveAs for embedded objects

robaxeman
04-18-2011, 07:34 AM
Hi I'm new to VBA but trying to write some code that will save to disk all the embedded visio files in a WORD (2003) document. I want to use the SaveAs method but this is not available with the .OLEFormat object. Is there a way of saving such embedded objects?

What I've done instead is to open all the embedded visio files, and then save them all manually - hardly automation is it! The problem is that each Visio file is opened in a seperate Visio application instance, so there is no way of manipulating each files from a single instance. Does anyone know how I can open each embedded visio but in a single Application instance?

Many thanks for reading.:thumb

Robin

(Visio is also 2003, SP2).

robaxeman
04-19-2011, 02:03 AM
OK - making progress, but I keep hitting brick walls! So far I have worked out how to open the embedded visio files. Further, I worked out how I can find an open visio file and save it with a new file name. What I can't do is combine these two operations!

See the following code.....

Dim MyObj As Object
Dim shape As InlineShape
' This opens the embedded visio documents, each in their own instance of visio
For Each shape In ThisDocument.InlineShapes
If (shape.Type = wdInlineShapeEmbeddedOLEObject) And (InStr(shape.OLEFormat.ClassType, "Visio") > 0) Then
shape.OLEFormat.DoVerb (wdOLEVerbOpen) ' Open the first embedded visio
' Now I want to save it
Set MyObj = GetObject(, "Visio.Application")
Debug.Print MyObj.Application.Documents.Item(1) ' Prints the filename
MyObj.Application.Documents.Item(1).SaveAs FileName:="Diag" & count & ".vsd
End If
Next shape

But the SaveAs doesn't work - I get an error "Access has been denied"
Now, the 'SaveAs' line above works fine on a visio that I have opened manually, but not when the visio is opened from an embedded file in WORD.
This is driving me crazy! How can I get permission to save that file?
:banghead: