PDA

View Full Version : connect Excel to AS/400



clarksonneo
05-01-2011, 06:06 AM
Hi,

The following code can be used to connect Excel to AS/400.

I don't understand why the example use ("A") for
SetConnectionByName


DIM autECLOIA as Object
Set autECLOIA = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLOIA")
autECLOIA.SetConnectionByName("A")


It is found from
http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/pcomhelp/v5r9/index.jsp?topic=/com.ibm.pcomm.doc/books/html/host_access08.htm

Under
Host Access Class Library Automation Objects -->
autECLFieldList Methods-->
GetText

Thanks

CareerChange
05-01-2011, 02:18 PM
Name

This property is the connection name string of the connection for which autECLOIA was set. Personal Communications only returns the short character ID (A-Z) in the string. There can be only one Personal Communications connection open with a given name. For example, there can be only one connection "A" open at a time. Name is a String data type and is read-only. The following example shows this property.

DIM Name as String
DIM Obj as Object
Set Obj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLOIA") ' Initialize the connection
Obj.SetConnectionByName("A") ' Save the name Name = Obj.Name

clarksonneo
05-01-2011, 05:51 PM
Name

This property is the connection name string of the connection for which autECLOIA was set. Personal Communications only returns the short character ID (A-Z) in the string. There can be only one Personal Communications connection open with a given name. For example, there can be only one connection "A" open at a time. Name is a String data type and is read-only. The following example shows this property.

DIM Name as String
DIM Obj as Object
Set Obj = CreateObject("PCOMM.autECLOIA") ' Initialize the connection
Obj.SetConnectionByName("A") ' Save the name Name = Obj.Name

Hi, thank you for your reply.

Does the connection name string of AS/400 be A ?

If so, could you plz tell me who set it to be A?

How can I check that it is A?

thanks