PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Desktop Customisation thru VBA



rythym22
06-27-2005, 11:06 PM
Hello....
i need to add a new functionality in MS Outlook 2003 drop down menu.
When i right click on the selected mail i get a drop down n when i select the Create Rule option ,a dialog box appears wherein i need to add a new functioality.
How do i add a new functionality to that drop down menu thru VBA?
or
How do i create a new drop down menu n merge this drop down menu to the original one using VBA?

Does VBA have any specific contol to create a drop down or a popupmenu?
I require urgent help related to this....pls do reply to this immediately...
Thanks..

Killian
06-28-2005, 06:08 AM
Hi and welcome to VBAX :hi:
I don't think you'll be able to add new functionality to the built in Rules dialog but you can add an item to the right-click menu to run whatever code you like.
It's quite tricky to get outlook context menus working reliably and as expected. You can find the details in this (http://www.outlookcode.com/codedetail.aspx?id=314) article at Sue Mosher's Outlook code site.
Good luck and feel free to drop by with any questions

MOS MASTER
06-28-2005, 09:23 AM
Hi & welcome to VBAX! :hi:

Perhaps you could go into more detail in customization you need for the rules wizard?

Perhaps there's a workarround..like K says there's no way of changing the build in dialogs..AFAIK....:whistle:

rythym22
06-29-2005, 10:12 PM
Hey thanks Killian for the clue. But another problem encountered is...the link added to right click option remains temporary...when i restart Outlook the link vanishes...
What cud be done in this case?:think:

Killian
06-30-2005, 01:17 AM
It depends what you've done... It would be great if you could post your code (especially for ppl reading loooking for the same solution)
I'm guessing at this stage that you need to enable the commandbars update events in Application_Startup but like I said, without the code, its just a guess

rythym22
07-07-2005, 12:11 AM
i need to integrate the Outlook 2003 with Documentum.How do i go about with it.Shud i create a session with Documentum?
What i exactly need to do is:
When i click on a button, all the cabinets of Documentum shud appear on the dialog box in the form of an explorer...Can i direcly call the Documentum component..if yes how? else what's the other option?
I need urgent help.

excelliot
07-07-2005, 04:40 AM
post yr excel sheet to view it

sheeeng
07-07-2005, 07:01 AM
Welcome to VBA Express!

I'm sure there a possible solution for your need...
Do post your file here....
We try to look into it...

rythym22
07-10-2005, 10:24 PM
hello.......
the following code i've used to insert a link in the right click popupmenu of MS Outlook 2003.Now the link added needs to be permanent whenever outlook application starts. what shud be done to make it permanent?


'set this object whenever the active explorer window changes, but
'that's not done in this example.
Private WithEvents activeexplorercbars As CommandBars
Private WithEvents contextbutton As CommandBarButton
'A flag, so we don't respond to our own changes in OnUpdate
Private IgnoreCommandbarsChanges As Boolean
'Run this first
Public Sub install()
Set activeexplorercbars = ActiveExplorer.CommandBars
End Sub

Private Sub Application_Startup()
Call ActiveExplorerCBars_OnUpdate
End Sub
Private Sub ContextButton_Click(ByVal Ctrl As Office.CommandBarButton, _
CancelDefault As Boolean)
UserForm3.Show
End Sub
'This fires when the user right-clicks a contact, and also for a lot of other things!
Private Sub ActiveExplorerCBars_OnUpdate()
Dim bar As CommandBar
If IgnoreCommandbarsChanges Then Exit Sub
'Try for the context menu
On Error Resume Next
Set bar = activeexplorercbars.Item("Context Menu")
On Error GoTo 0
If Not bar Is Nothing Then
AddContextButton bar
End If
End Sub
Private Sub AddContextButton(ContextMenu As CommandBar)
Dim b As CommandBarButton
Dim Control As CommandBarControl

'User cannot play with the Context Menu, so we know there is at most
'only one copy of the control there
Set Control = ContextMenu.FindControl(Type:=MsoControlType.msoControlButton, _
Tag:="CreateDocbseRule...")

If Control Is Nothing Then

'Unprotect context menu
ChangingBar ContextMenu, Restore:=False

'Create the control
Set Control = ContextMenu.Controls.Add(Type:=msoControlButton)

'Set up control
Control.Tag = "CreateDocbaseRule..."
Control.Caption = "CreateDocbaseRule..."
Control.Priority = 1
Control.Visible = True

'Reprotect context menu
ChangingBar ContextMenu, Restore:=True

'Hook the Click event
Set contextbutton = Control

Else
'Note that Outlook has a bad habbit of changing our Context Menu buttons
'to be priority dropped.
Control.Priority = 1
End If
End Sub
'Called once to prepare for changes to the command bar, then again with
'Restore = true once changes are complete.
Private Sub ChangingBar(bar As CommandBar, Restore As Boolean)

Static oldProtectFromCustomize, oldIgnore As Boolean

If Restore Then

'Restore the Ignore Changes flag
IgnoreCommandbarsChanges = oldIgnore

'Restore the protect-against-customization bit
If oldProtectFromCustomize Then bar.Protection = bar.Protection _
And msoBarNoCustomize

Else

'Store the old Ignore Changes flag
oldIgnore = IgnoreCommandbarsChanges
IgnoreCommandbarsChanges = True

oldProtectFromCustomize = bar.Protection And msoBarNoCustomize

If oldProtectFromCustomize Then bar.Protection = bar.Protection And _
Not msoBarNoCustomize
End If
End Sub

Scottie P
07-10-2005, 10:33 PM
Hi Rythym22.

I edited your post to include the VBA tags so that your code is set apart from the rest of your post.

Scott

PS - I couldn't seem to get it to pull in from the right margin - sorry guys. :(

rythym22
07-10-2005, 10:42 PM
Well i resolved that issue...of making the link permanent. How cud we extract some other software's cabinets to our project.

i need to display Documentum's cabinets on the click of a button.

MOS MASTER
07-11-2005, 10:54 AM
Well i resolved that issue...of making the link permanent. How cud we extract some other software's cabinets to our project.

i need to display Documentum's cabinets on the click of a button.

Hi, :hi:

Do you mean the ECM Package Documentum by Adobe? (We have that at corporate documentation)

If so then this isn't part of the VBA family AFAIK. But you can always contact Adobe to find out if they have provided a programmable object library for there product.

If there is such a object library I'm sure they can point you in the right direction.

HTH, :whistle:

rythym22
07-12-2005, 03:52 AM
i have to customise Outlook with refernece to EMC package Documentum by Adobe.I have to import folders/cabinets from EMC package Documentum by Adobe into Microsoft Outlook 2003.
I have to complet it in 2 days.Need urgent help.any reference available...any sample codes.or clue.
Thanks.

MOS MASTER
07-12-2005, 09:43 AM
i have to customise Outlook with refernece to EMC package Documentum by Adobe.I have to import folders/cabinets from EMC package Documentum by Adobe into Microsoft Outlook 2003.
I have to complet it in 2 days.Need urgent help.any reference available...any sample codes.or clue.
Thanks.

Then you should follow my advice and contact Adobe a.s.a.p. :whistle:

Scottie P
07-12-2005, 07:02 PM
FYI: Joost is correct on this one; a several searched of the Newsgroups yielded zero for this issue.

MOS MASTER
07-13-2005, 06:39 AM
FYI: Joost is correct on this one; a several searched of the Newsgroups yielded zero for this issue.

Indeed Documentum is a special ECM Package and those special applications aren't very common so you ussualy only find help at the source. (The app builder) :whistle:

rythym22
07-14-2005, 03:54 AM
Hi.
Where will i find the VB APIs provided by dctm ? these VB APIs will help me integrate Outlook with Documentum.

MOS MASTER
07-14-2005, 07:47 AM
Hi.
Where will i find the VB APIs provided by dctm ? these VB APIs will help me integrate Outlook with Documentum.

Start here:
http://www.documentum.com/products/glossary/documentum_api.htm

rythym22
07-21-2005, 11:59 PM
Hi.
Well my session to Docbase has been created.
Just wanted to know how to call a component ...for eg...docbasebrowser.exe thru VBA.
Any particular method to call a component.

Thanks.

MOS MASTER
07-22-2005, 10:42 AM
Glad to see you've found your sollution! :yes

rythym22
07-25-2005, 03:00 AM
Hi,
Just wanted to know how to call a component ...for eg...docbasebrowser.exe thru VBA.
:think: Is there any specific method to call a component thru code.
Thanks.

Brandtrock
07-25-2005, 03:15 AM
Take a look at this KB entry to see if you can amend it to do what you are asking.

Regards,

MOS MASTER
07-25-2005, 10:41 AM
Hi,
Just wanted to know how to call a component ...for eg...docbasebrowser.exe thru VBA.
:think: Is there any specific method to call a component thru code.
Thanks.

Like I said before, I don't think anyone over here as experience with Documentum object model (API-based) and I keep repeating myself. :yes

Ask Adobe's tech helpdesk for advice. :whistle: