PDA

View Full Version : Drop Down Validation Double Dependency

gqtrades
07-09-2011, 03:02 PM
Hello I am fairly new to excel and visual basic and was wondering if maybe anyone could help.

I created dependent dropdown validations using the built in excel features and also using the indirect function. It works the way it should but now if you select the Door Mount dropdown list you will see that there is right and left mounting options. When you select the Motor Mount dropdown list when FS is selected in cell E8, you find the options L1 through R5 where L is for Left and R is for Right. I wanted to know if there was anyway I could make it so when the end user selects the left or right door mount options it automatically affects the Left or Right options for the Motor Mount.

Simply I would like to create a function that says if E8 ="FS" and H2="Left..." then display motor mount dropdown options L1 - L5. Sorry I know this might be petty but for some reason I cant get around this and I find myself driven crazy if I cant figure something out.

P.S. This could have been solved with an easy dependent drop down list but I find the issue to be paradoxical since the cell I want to refer from already has another dependency , maybe there is a way around it?

Thank you very much for your time.

Bob Phillips
07-10-2011, 12:23 AM
Setup two named ranges for the left, FSL, and the right, FSR, values, and use

=INDIRECT(E8&LEFT($H$2,1))

gqtrades
07-10-2011, 08:19 AM
It works and that is genius, thank you very much. Anyway you can tell me why or how it works?

Bob Phillips
07-10-2011, 10:26 AM
Much the same way as the original works, but here you just concatenate the first letterof H2 onto that selected value, thereby getting FSL or FSR which you indirect into.

gqtrades
07-12-2011, 05:53 PM