PDA

View Full Version : Autotexts in HeadersFooters

gotmatt
07-14-2011, 03:23 PM
Hi all,

I'm quite new to the VBA game, and I'm slowly figuring out Headers and Footers. I'm working in Word 2003. The goal of my project is to insert a unique (predefined) Auto Text entry into different even/odd footers and headers. I think I'm pretty close, but I keep getting "Run-time error '438': Object doesn't support this property or method. It calls out the line where I try to "set" the myHeaderEven/Odd...

When I move my cursor over "myHeaderEven," it pops up "=nothing" for a value. Could that be the source of my problems?

The counter is so that it begins on section 2. I'm also hoping to stop this macro before it reaches the last section, but I have to figure this out first!

Private Sub Insert_Headers()
'
' Inserts Auto Text (HeaderOdd/HeaderEven) into Even/Odd Headers, sections 2-end of document
'

Dim counter As Integer
counter = 1
Dim myTemplate As Template
Dim mySection As Section
Dim myHeaderOdd As HeaderFooter
Set myHeaderOdd = ActiveDocument.mySection(counter).Headers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary)
Dim myHeaderEven As HeaderFooter
Set myHeaderEven = ActiveDocument.mySection(counter).Headers(wdHeaderFooterEvenPages)
Dim myFooterOdd As HeaderFooter
Set myFooterOdd = ActiveDocument.mySection(counter).Footers(wdHeaderFooterPrimary)
Dim myFooterEven As HeaderFooter
Set myFooterEven = ActiveDocument.mySection(counter).Footers(wdHeaderFooterEvenPages)
Set myTemplate = ActiveDocument.AttachedTemplate

For Each mySection In ActiveDocument.Sections

If counter > 1 Then

For Each myHeaderOdd In mySection.Headers
myTemplate.AutoTextEntries("HeaderOdd").Insert Where:=Selection.Range
Next myHeaderOdd

For Each myHeaderEven In mySection.Headers
myTemplate.AutoTextEntries("HeaderEven").Insert Where:=Selection.Range
Next myHeaderEven

For Each myFooterOdd In mySection.Footers
myTemplate.AutoTextEntries("FooterOdd").Insert Where:=Selection.Range
Next myFooterOdd