PDA

View Full Version : Solved: New to VB. Macro to format object

RockMechMark
07-22-2011, 11:48 AM
I have no experience using Visual Basic with Powerpoint. My feet are only slightly wet in its use with Excel. I am requesting help with a very basic function to get me started.

I have several slides with four jpg objects, each toward the corners of the slide. I need to replace the jpgs. For now, I will do that manually. However, the two jpgs on the right have white space that extend off the slide. When I change the picture, it changes the size, position and cropping parameters. I would like to automate this a little. I see two approaches:

(1) I change the pictures manually, then I would like to execute a macro that changes the size, position, and cropping parameters of the right two jpgs back to what I want them. This could be done by either selecting an object and executing the appropriate macro (one per object position), or just executing one macro that selects the appropriate objects and changes the appropriate parameters.

(2) Change the cropping of the right two jpgs to zero, then prompt for changing the jpg for each of the four, then changing the cropping of the right two jpgs back to the final setting. This is possible because it is the cropping setting that forces the change in size and position.

Any takers? Thanks.

dougbert
08-11-2011, 12:06 AM
Hi RockMechMark,

If my solution works for you, please marked this thread as Solved by clicking on the Thread Tools menu just above your first post to the right. A nice rating is always appreciated too! :rotlaugh:

Welcome to PP VBA! Instead of just dropping some code here, and since this is new to you, I'm going to explain some of the code in advance to help get you started.