PDA

View Full Version : Macro to delete old emails from same sender

Mr Octopus
08-04-2011, 09:51 PM
Hi there. Sorry, I'm a complete VBA newbie, so forgive any idiot questions that follow.

First off, I'm using Outlook 2010.

I work in a company where I receive multiple emails a day from one sender, all with the same subject line. The most recently received email renders all previous emails redundant, and at the moment it's proving to be an arduous task to keep manually deleting all emails but the newest one.

I did a search around these forums and found this thread: forum/showthread.php?t=1267, which seems to answer my question. (Sorry, I can't post links due to my low post count, apparently).

Being a complete VBA novice, I tried to just copy/paste the code that seemed to fit me best, and change out the fields I thought were relevant. That doesn't seem to have worked (surprise surprise).

Here's the code I was trying to use (this is the original code I copy/pasted from user: mdmackillop, not my altered version where I probably screwed it completely up):

Sub KillDupes()
'Needs a reference to Microsoft Scripting Runtime
Dim olSession As Outlook.Application, olNamespace As NameSpace
Dim olInbox As Outlook.MAPIFolder, olDupe As Outlook.MAPIFolder
Dim MyolInbox As Outlook.MAPIFolder
Dim olItem As MailItem
Dim olDict As Dictionary
Dim MS, MySubs
MySubs = Array("EE", "VBA")

Set olSession = New Outlook.Application
Set olDict = New Scripting.Dictionary
Set olNamespace = olSession.GetNamespace("MAPI")
Set olInbox = olNamespace.GetDefaultFolder(olFolderInbox)

For Each MS In MySubs
Set MyolInbox = olInbox.Folders(MS)

On Error Resume Next
Set olDupe = olInbox.Folders("Old")
If Err <> 0 Then Set olDupe = olInbox.Folders.Add("Old")
On Error Goto 0
For Each olItem In MyolInbox.Items
If TypeName(olItem) = "MailItem" Then
If olDict.Exists(olItem.Subject & olItem.SenderName) Then
'if the subject exists test to see which message is newer