PDA

View Full Version : Help needed: Copy a Line from One Word Document to Other!

shrivallabha
08-18-2011, 11:01 AM
This is my first post in Word VBA forum. I have some experience with Excel VBA (to clarify about my VBA background) and I do not know much about Word VBA (almost zero knowledge). Here's the complete scenario.

1. There are many departments and they prepare their own weekly report. Each report contains bulleted points under Headings like "Pending Items", "Planned Items" etc. Number of bulleted points vary.

2. So using these individual reports, Main report is created which is more or less compilation of all reports. This is being done manually as of now.

So is it possible to create the main report using word VBA like:
1. All departmental reports will be collected in a folder [manually].
2. When the macro in Main Report is run then it will loop through selected folder & all word docs.
3. Each department Doc will be opened and the bulleted points under each tab will be copied and pasted under Dept. Heading in Main Report.

This will save a lot of manhours and headache. I am attaching a sample (of Main Report and one Dept. Report)

Kindly advice me, if it is a feasible idea? At this point, I am trying to search Word VBA book. I have always benefitted from good advice on this forum. Hope to get the same. Thank you.

shrivallabha
08-19-2011, 11:28 PM
How difficult is it? And is it worth pursuing (if VBA part is extremely difficult and could become error-ridden etc.). Please advice.

shrivallabha
08-20-2011, 09:17 AM
I am getting a little impatient. So I have posted this on msdn forum:
http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/worddev/thread/cf0e06ed-2386-4e05-9df6-76c6b111b68a

Talis
08-21-2011, 12:36 PM
Could this work?