PDA

View Full Version : Solved: User Must Fill Certain Cells before Closing

ROK
08-24-2011, 05:26 AM
Sorry folks I'm new to this and trying to figure out the forum rules but hope you can help and that I have enough info.
I have an excel doc and I'm trying to control data entry and make fields required under certain conditions. So, if you select any part of the range A5:I5 (A4:I4 is a list of headings) you must complete all fields before being able to close the doc. but if you start the next row range A6:I6 again you must complete fully and any other row you begin until you have all updates complete. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
This is the code I edited to try and suit but it makes all the cells in the range (Row) required even if the whole row is blank and I also need to hardcode all the rows to the range which potentially might be allot. I might be going the wrong way around this so any advice is greatly appreciated.

Option Explicit

Private Sub Workbook_BeforeClose(Cancel As Boolean)
Dim Start As Boolean
Dim Rng1 As Range, Rng3 As Range, Rng4 As Range

Dim Prompt As String, RngStr As String
Dim Cell As Range
'set your ranges here
'Rng1 is on sheet "Group Profile" and cells B5 through B14
'Cell F1, A range of F5 through F7 etc. you can change these to
'suit your needs.
Set Rng1 = Sheets("Compliments").Range("A5:I5,A6:I6,A7:I7,A8:I8,A9:I9,A10:I10")
Set Rng3 = Sheets("Complaints").Range("A6:V6,A7:V7,A8:V8,A9:V9,A10:V10,A11:V11")
Set Rng4 = Sheets("Refunds").Range("A6:F6,A7:F7,A8:F8,A9:F9,A10:F10,A11:F11")
'message is returned if there are blank cells
Prompt = "Please check your data ensuring all required " & _
"cells are complete." & vbCrLf & "you will not be able " & _
"to close or save the workbook until the form has been filled " & _
"out completely. " & vbCrLf & vbCrLf & _
"The following cells are incomplete and have been highlighted yellow:" _
& vbCrLf & vbCrLf
Start = True
'highlights the blank cells
For Each Cell In Rng1