PDA

View Full Version : autoprint e-mail subject and body only

slhfire
09-24-2011, 10:23 AM
Good morning, afternoon, or evening as the case may be.

I am brand new to VBA because of not knowing what a great tool it can be. I have started learning today on how to perform certain tasks, but need some guidance on how to perform the following in Outlook.

- Automatically print a an e-mail or RSS subject and body only to the default printer.
- The printout needs to be in raw data format and in a single line. I also have to input a constant string "<ID01><PA>" to be specific prior to the printed line.
- Delete the E-mail or RSS once it has been printed.

This process is to run a LED signboard in our fire station. The goal is to have the e-mail received, stripped of all the un-necessary junk, then spit out to the signboard to display the nature and location of the incident. (The subject and body respectively).

The problem lies in that the signboard has to receive the command in the format "<ID01><PA>"insert message data here"

Any help would be immensely appreciated. In the meantime, I'll be reading up and writing what I'm sure will be a lot of bad code.

Thank You

slhfire
09-24-2011, 12:35 PM
So far I'm able to manually output to the signboard using a third part "raw data printer" so if I put the code into the VB and run it, I get what I need... just now need to add the message extraction and such to input where it needs to go.

Sub signprint()

Dim RDP as New RawDataPrinter.Printer
RetVal = RDP.PrintRawData("<ID01><PA><CB><FB>test<FP>")

End Sub

That just scrolls the word "test" across the screen.. disregard all the "<>" items as they are just operators that control how the sign displays the message.

slhfire
09-24-2011, 09:55 PM