PDA

View Full Version : Cycle Picture from Folder

tlamanna
11-09-2011, 04:26 PM
Hi All,

I’m relatively new to vba. What I am looking for, is a way to cycle through a group of pictures in a folder, for a record. Each record may have 3 to 5 pictures.
I am trying to use the Dir function to pass the file name to the picture control. The code below is the only way I have been able to make it work.
Can someone point me in the right direction?

Private Sub Imageloop_Click()
Dim strDocPath As String
Dim strCurrentFile As String
strDocPath = "N:\Images\"
strCurrentFile = Dir(strDocPath & "*.*")
Do While strCurrentFile <> ""
MsgBox strCurrentFile
Imageloop.Picture = [PATH] & strCurrentFile

strCurrentFile = Dir
Loop

End Sub

HiTechCoach
11-10-2011, 01:14 PM
My guess is that you can only see the last picture found since an image control can only display a single image at a time.

I think part of your issue may be how you are trying to display the image and not the Dir() function.

This may also be an issue:

Imageloop.Picture = [PATH] & strCurrentFile
Where is [PATH] coming from? You are using a different variable in the code for the Dir().

try:

Imageloop.Picture = strDocPath & strCurrentFile
We really need some more details. What are you trying to do with the code? What is not working? Are you getting any error messages?

tlamanna
11-11-2011, 10:10 AM
Hi Boyd,

Yep you are right. If I comment out the message box, all I see is the last image. if I leave it in the loop, loop breaks at every message box showing the image each time i click OK on the msgbox.
[Path] is a field containing "N:\Images\" . I know it is redundant with strDocPath. I used [PATH] because each record will have a different folder of images.
Makes me realize I should have strDocPath = [PATH]