PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Code to edit data and to save as a text file.

jordanwebb10
12-02-2011, 01:53 PM
Hello everyone!

I always hate having my first post being a request for help but I just wanted to thank anyone in advance.

I am a sports scientist with a professional team here in the states. We recently purchased some hardware that allow us to take resting heart rate readings and calculate fatigue. I now will be working within excel to a large extend and decided I wanted to learn basic VBA programming to automate some processes. I have been using the record Macro function and then editing different pieces together to help myself learn, but there are some things I can not do. While I have every intention of trying to improve my skills a current project deadline is approaching faster then I can learn VBA!! I was wondering if someone could help with some coding in the intermediate.

We have collected over 200 of the sample files (RtoR Zephyr Data) and will have about 10 more per day that I will need to process and analyze in other software. The problem is that this hardware gives me values that need to be converted into a different format so that the analysis software can read it.

What I would like to do is this.

Delete Column A and B (useless data)
As you can see in column C I have values that repeat themselves (time periods between heartbeats gathered for every epoch period). I only need one absolute value of each repeated series (or in other words just the time between each beat)put into column D. I have been using this formula in column D after creating a table in column A:D to get the correct values, =if(c2<>c1,abs(c2),””)*1000 (The *1000 is so I can get the values in milliseconds versus a percentage of a second)
Filter out the bad data
on a different sheet I would then enter the following information (it is a header necessary for the analysis software to take the file) [Params]
SMode=000000000
Date=00000000
StartTime=00:00:00.0
Length=00:00:00.0