PDA

View Full Version : Solved: Application OK only in Excel 2000 or earlier

Peter58
12-07-2011, 01:29 AM
Hi,

First of all I am not a VBA programmer. I am, however, a VB and C programmer and so, for my sins, I have been asked to try and sort out a problem with some code written in 1997 which works fine in Excel 2000 and earlier but not in Excel 2007 (I haven't tried it in Excel 2003).

I have spent quite some time looking into the problem but have not found a solution to it as yet. I have installed two .dll's that I believe were needed but this has not made any difference (VBACV10.DLL and VBACV10D.DLL).

The code is part of a larger application but the offending file is one called a.XLS. Basically, it is a simulation used in a chemistry teaching lab.

Run under Excel 2000 there are no problems. However, under Excel 2007: the first section is "The Arrhenius Equation". Click "Next" and then the "right arrow" on the 2nd section above "Quit" to get to the 3rd section. If you now click to right arrow here (just above "See calculation"), an error occurs (Unable to set the visible property of the TextBoxes class).

Under Excel 2000, the 4th section works fine showing some calculations and a graph.

I wonder if anyone has any idea why this is, please, and what can be done to fix it. I guess I may resolve the issue if I spend more time but perhaps someone experienced in VBA will be able to look at it and see the problem straight away. One can always hope!

I see that as this is my first post I cannot post a link to download the file.

Hopefully the following will be allowed and the file can be downloaded from here:

h t t p / /:139 (dot) 184 (dot) 163 (dot) 77/a.xls

(Obviously replace "dot" with a real full stop and no spaces).

Very many thanks,

Peter

frank_m
12-07-2011, 02:42 AM
Hi Peter - Welcome to the Forum,

Just to see if this narrows down the issue, try disabling all the places where you are unprotecting and reprotecting the sheet. Then run this: