PDA

View Full Version : Selecting items in already existing Combo Boxes (Drop down list)

alas
12-12-2011, 04:27 PM
Hello Everyone,

I'm pretty new to VBA so please go easy on me.

So here's the basic issue I'm having:

I have a workbook with large amounts of data. I need to extract certain data from this workbook. In this workbook, the data is categorized by drop down menus. So, I'd select an item in drop down menu, and then I can run a simple copy and paste macro. BUT, I need to be able to change the drop down selection in VBA.

Is there a way to do this? I have already identified what each shape is called, I just don't know the code to activate the value I want.

I've been searching and searching but I've only come up with codes that give me errors.

Your help would be greatly appreciated,
thank you!

Eric C.

mikerickson
12-12-2011, 06:41 PM
If you are useing Forms controls rather than ActiveX, code like this should work.

ActiveSheet.Shapes("Drop Down 1").ControlFormat.Value = 4: Rem selects fourth item
ActiveSheet.Shapes("Drop Down 1").ControlFormat.Value = 0: Rem deselects all itemsNote that the List for forms ListBoxes and ComboBoxes is 1 based, while the list for ActiveX or Userform controls is 0 based.

alas
12-13-2011, 10:28 AM
If you are useing Forms controls rather than ActiveX, code like this should work.

ActiveSheet.Shapes("Drop Down 1").ControlFormat.Value = 4: Rem selects fourth item
ActiveSheet.Shapes("Drop Down 1").ControlFormat.Value = 0: Rem deselects all itemsNote that the List for forms ListBoxes and ComboBoxes is 1 based, while the list for ActiveX or Userform controls is 0 based.

Hi mikerickson,

Thanks for the swift reply! I tried this code and I got a Run-time error '1004':

Application-defined or object-defined error.

Here's what I typed in:

ActiveSheet.Shapes("Group 27").ControlFormat.Value = 4

Just to see if it would select, but I keep getting that error. Did I format it incorrectly?