PDA

View Full Version : Headers and Footers

JimHelton
01-16-2012, 12:04 PM
Hello! I found this forum in my quest for VBA knowledge and it looks like an excellent resource. I'm a bit new to VBA and have run into a snag with an existing macro used by our company.

The goal of the macro is to place an image on the first page (making it essentially a coverpage) and then to put an image and numbering on the remaining pages.

The original macro worked great on a new document that did not contain sections, etc. However, it would do some crazy things on documents that had multiple sections and linked headers/footers. I've added a section to strip all linking and that fixed the issue with only having the coverpage image on the first page, but now it dumps multiple instances of the footer on the first page and on one page later in the doc (page 9). My goal ultimately is to have the "GSI Letterhead 1st Page" building block on only the first page and the "-GSI Icon Footer" building block in the footer of all other pages.

What am I doing wrong? Can anyone provide an example of how this might be accomplished by extending this code or even starting clean?

Thanks!

Public Sub GSIAddElectronicLetterhead()
' Strip all linking from all sections
Dim mySection As Section, myHF As HeaderFooter

For Each mySection In ActiveDocument.Sections()
For Each myHF In mySection.Headers
myHF.LinkToPrevious = False
Next

For Each myHF In mySection.Footers
myHF.LinkToPrevious = False
Next
Next

' Add coverpage by using first page header.
Dim pageCount As Long, Count As Long

For Each myTemplate In Templates
If myTemplate.Name = "gsi.dotm" Then
ActiveDocument.Range.GoTo(wdGoToPage, wdGoToAbsolute, , "1").Select
ActiveDocument.PageSetup.DifferentFirstPageHeaderFooter = True
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.SeekView = wdSeekCurrentPageHeader
myTemplate.BuildingBlockEntries("GSI Letterhead 1st page").Insert Where:=Selection.Range, RichText:=True
ActiveWindow.ActivePane.View.SeekView = wdSeekMainDocument