PDA

View Full Version : Pull Excel data into word



zaker
02-01-2012, 06:07 PM
I am using Office 2010, and would like to use a drop down, populated from an excel sheet, to pull data into other fields into word.

e.g. drop down is populated from excel column A, use drop down to select row 3. pull B3, B4, B5 into word fields.

Is this possible through VBA? if so, can someone point me in the right direction to get some info to accomplish this?

Thanks!

fumei
02-03-2012, 08:43 PM
Yes, it is possible. It is a common request. Try Google, and try the search function here.

zaker
02-05-2012, 11:51 AM
Yes, it is possible. It is a common request. Try Google, and try the search function here.

I have googled and searched here, I can find ways to pull data from Excel into Word, but not in they way I am trying to do it.

Kenneth Hobs
02-06-2012, 09:08 AM
You probably don't know what to look for.

'TypeText method
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/650672-populate-word-document-from-excel.html#post1946784
' http://www.excelforum.com/showthread.php?p=1946784
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?p=169877
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=24693
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/791302-excel-to-word-paragraph-and-page-setup.html

'Copy from Excel, paste to Word
'Lucas, http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?p=178364

'FormFields
' http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1639696
' http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=333200
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/799070-import-text-fields-from-word.html
' Content Controls
' http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=39654

'Add Hyperlink to Bookmark
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/664078-use-excel-vba-to-add-a-hyperlink-to-a-word-document.html#post2006430
'Steiner, http://www.vbaexpress.com/kb/getarticle.php?kb_id=126
'Colin_L, http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=358054

'Save OLEObject as MSWord Document
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21619

'Add Table to MSWord
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=23975
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?p=168731

'Import Word Tables
'vog, http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=382541

'Save OLEObject as MSWord DOC
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=21619

'Get Optionbutton info from MSWord DOC
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=22454

'FindReplace Text
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/682014-replace-word-in-ms-word-with-varable-from-ms-excel.html
' http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?t=38958
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/794297-struggling-with-a-find-replace-macro-to-word.html

'Bookmarks
' http://vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?p=185718
'Colin_L, http://www.mrexcel.com/forum/showthread.php?t=358054
' http://www.vbaexpress.com/forum/showthread.php?p=253277

'Mail Merge
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/796614-mail-merge-from-excel.html
' http://www.excelforum.com/excel-programming/798299-print-mail-merge-document.html
'Word 's Catalogue/Directory Mailmerge facility (the terminology depends on the Word version). _
To see how to group records with any mailmerge data source supported by Word, _
check out my Microsoft Word Catalogue/Directory Mailmerge Tutorial at:
' http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/index.php?showtopic=731107
' or
' http://www.gmayor.com/Zips/Catalogue%20Mailmerge.zip

zaker
02-07-2012, 08:30 AM
Thank you for the links! Not sure what to look for hit it on the head. Using the right keywords makes a world of difference. I will go through those links.

Kenneth Hobs
02-07-2012, 10:01 AM
Sounds like your are using either Form Fields or Content Controls to hold the data in MSWord.

fumei
02-07-2012, 10:16 PM
"e.g. drop down is populated from excel column A, use drop down to select row 3. pull B3, B4, B5 into word fields.|

What does this actually mean?? What is the logical relationship? The entire column A? Part of it? What is the logic?

You need to precisely, exactly, determine what it is you want to happen.

zaker
02-08-2012, 07:15 AM
"e.g. drop down is populated from excel column A, use drop down to select row 3. pull B3, B4, B5 into word fields.|

What does this actually mean?? What is the logical relationship? The entire column A? Part of it? What is the logic?

You need to precisely, exactly, determine what it is you want to happen.

I have a Word document, it has a drop down I would like to populate data from an Excel sheet with all of the data in Column A. Depending which cell/row is selected, e.g. A4, I want to pull that row, specifically B4, C4, & D4 into 3 additional Word fields. In other words, select a and pull one row of data in.

fumei
02-08-2012, 05:32 PM
That is neither precisely or exactly.

What - precisely - is on the dropdown?
Is the Excel file open already, or do you have to open it?
Does ALL the data in column A get moved over to Word?
You state "which cell/row is selected"...but if you are selecting a cell/row...what is the dropdown for????

Now it seems (but is not clear) that the dropdown will list something like:

A4
A5
A6

and if you select A4, then B4, C4, D4 get put in "additional" Word fields. Additional to what??? What other fields? You do not state what these fields are. Formfields?

By precisely, exactly, I mean precisely exactly that.

williomshab1
02-16-2012, 05:25 AM
Thanks for sharing this post with us .This one is the most important and most popular post and also website.