PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Auto Refresh Pivot Table on Activate Worksheet

K. Georgiadis
07-03-2004, 10:28 AM
Could you provide VBA code for refreshing an Excel Pivot Table automatically upon activating the worksheet?

Anne Troy
07-03-2004, 10:32 AM
I'm no coder, and I stole this, but you can try it unless and until someone better comes along. Copy this code:

Private Sub Worksheet_Activate()
'If this worksheet is activated, refresh the pivot table
Sheets("Pivot").PivotTables("PivotTable1").RefreshTable
End Sub

Open your Excel file.
Right-click the sheet tab on which the pivot table resides and hit View Code.
Paste the code into the code window at right.
Hit the Save button. Close the Visual Basic Editor window.

To test:
Click on any other sheet.
Click on the sheet with your pivot table.

Warning: Your pivot table may not be pivot table 1...

K. Georgiadis
07-03-2004, 11:01 AM
Appropriately enough my Pivot Table is in worksheet "Pivot Table," but what does "PivotTable1" refer to?

Anne Troy
07-03-2004, 11:17 AM
Whenever you place an object into a worksheet, such as a pivot table, chart, or drawn object from the drawing toolbar, Excel assigns it a *name*. That's all I know about that. But, I suspect that if you created your pivot table once, and deleted it, the next time you create it, it could be assigned as pivot table 2...

I'm not sure on it...

Anne Troy
07-03-2004, 11:20 AM
It appears as though if you select the top, right-hand corner cell of your pivot table and choose "Table Options", you can find out the name of your pivot table, or even assign it a different name.

K. Georgiadis
07-03-2004, 11:42 AM
you're absolutely right. Apparently my table is PivotTable2

Anne Troy
07-03-2004, 11:43 AM
Great. Let us know if the code works for you. :)

K. Georgiadis
07-03-2004, 11:46 AM
and it works too! Thanks very much

Anne Troy
07-03-2004, 11:49 AM
Cool!! Marked solved, and added to the KB.

Brandtrock
07-03-2004, 01:42 PM